Tacx Neo, no Erg, TR resistance settings

I have been using TR and an OG Neo for a few years now. I can’t remember the last time I’ve turned off Erg in TR. I decided to do it this weekend, and I feel like I’m doing something wrong. With Erg off, I have to dial the “resistance” slider all the way down to about 12% just to get my small ring/28 combo to go to less than 150watts. If I push it to 100%, I have to stand up just to spin the pedals. Am I doing something wrong? What “%” is the default setting?

I haven’t had this totally confirmed by TR, but my take on the Resistance percentage is to think of it like setting the trainer brake at whatever the percentage is, based upon the max. For the Neo, that is around 2200w max IIRC:

• 10% is around 220w resistance
  • 50% is around 1100w resistance
  • etc.

This is purely based on my experience, and will also vary with the specific gearing used in the moment 9 Higher gear = harder).

They supposedly adopted a unique default percentage based upon the trainer type, but from memory, it is usually around 10-20% default from my use with various trainers. Just choose a number that works for you, and don’t worry what it actually is.

1 Like

The default is 50%, IIRC.

Yes, I have mine at 14% which gives me around FTP in the big ring, middle cassette, around 85rpm.

I’m on the Neo 2T.

Edit: Still wishing for a sim mode slope. :slight_smile:

Double Edit: The reason is that for sprints, I have dial it up to 40-50%, and it becomes a nightmare to manage.

2 Likes