Sustained Power Build High Volume --- too hard?

I’m a 38yo competitive amateur rower. In the wake of COVID I started cycling, and put in a few thousand miles outside over the summer. Eventually I decided to give my riding some structure by using the TR high volume time trial plan, still mostly outside.

I started with SSB2HV. I found it quite manageable. I don’t recall failing any of the workouts. If I did it was only a couple. The first few workouts of the plan (2x20 etc) felt really hard, but I adjusted quickly and within a few weeks I was cranking out 3x30s reliably. Now on good days I feel like I can do sweet spot forever. I was really impressed with how much SSB2HV improved my power endurance, and how quickly the adaptations came.

So I finished SSB2HV and moved onto Sustained Power Build High Volume. I’ve been doing it for 3 or 4 weeks now. I feel like I’ve failed as many workouts as I’ve completed. The schedule each week is 1 vo2max workout, 1 threshold workout, 1 over/under workout (essentially threshold), 1 long sweet spot workout, and 2 zone2 workouts. That’s 3 high intensity workouts per week, or 4 if you count the sweet spot work as high intensity. In another context, the sweet spot work might not count as high intensity, but I think it definitely does here because there is so little chance to recover from day to day, so the workouts are harder within the context of the SPBHV plan than they would be in an easier plan, or in isolation.

Having 4 hard workouts per week means that no matter at what, you must do intense workouts on back-to-back days at least once per week. I don’t know of anybody, not even Olympians, who do 4 hard days a week, or who do hard days back-to-back consistently. There is so much intensity in SPBHV that it seems almost reckless on the part of TR. But maybe I’m just a wimp?