Shift worker and training advice for a beginner

Hi to all you wonderful guys,(got to try some flattery), I have recently discovered the Podcasts and enjoy listening whilst on my commute.
I have just signed up to TrainerRoad and completed my ramp test although it’s only an FTP of 205 I know that it’s early days, but it’s a start. I am a 117kg 48YO so have no aspirations to race. part of my weight increase happened after having surgery for testicular cancer and messed up hormones. The rest is due to my lack of willpower and a sweet tooth.
I work as a Paramedic in the UK and have a shift pattern of 2 days on 2 nights on 4 days off. y shift is basically an hour commute 12-hour shift then an hour drive home
this is on a 7-week rotation with 18 days off at the end of the 7th shift block.

I signed up for the Ride London 100 at the end of May so have 6 months of training to get in
I also want to complete the Flandrian Challenge at the start of September as well.

I want to run a structured training program but have a few questions
based on my 14hr work day how much sleep would you recommend as I currently get 5-6 you guys recommend 8-10 hours?

Due to the shift pattern, I can manage a session on the daytime of my first night shift so I could manage 3-4 sessions per week, does it matter that I have to move things around including what everybody else would term their weekend ride but would be limited on rest days. any help and advice would be awesome- keep up the great work.

I think there are some podcasts covering shift work, I’ll have a search.

I’m the same age as you, my starting FTP was 170 iirc. You’ll be fine.

I’ve trained for years with 5-6hrs sleep. Could I have got much faster? Almost certainly with more sleep alone. But we live our lives right, you’ll still make progress just try not to let it affect your work.

3 Likes

Here are a few existing topics I found in search:

https://www.trainerroad.com/forum/search?q=shift%20work%20%23training%20in%3Atitle

2 Likes