Saddle sore woes

I’ve been dealing with saddle sores for the past 6 months, and it’s driving me crazy! I just want to make sure there is t anything else I could be doing.

Professional fit from a well regarded fitter
I’ve been riding seriously for 2 years, 6-10 hours a week
5 pairs of specialized bib shorts I got when this started, clean pair every time
Baby wipes before riding, assos cream, in the shower immediately afterwards
I’ve lowered my saddle further, didn’t change anything
I’ve taken 10 days off several times during this - the sores go away but come back within a week
I’ve tried hydrocolloid bandages to no avail
I’ve switched to my road bike on the trainer, no help
I’ve spent way too much money on saddles that help for a week but then sores again (ISM pn 1.1, ps 2.0, pr 2.0, pr 3.0, WTB volt, SMP T2, prologo dimension ndr, dimension space).

Of these saddles the padding of the pr 3.0 feels best but the nose is way too wide. The shape of the dimension ndr feels the best but I end up with sores.

I have a powerful AC and multiple fans in my workout room.

Help! Anything else I can try? Any narrow saddles that have thicker padding? Am I doing something wrong?

2 Likes

You could try going up a size in bib shorts. This helped me. Although the shorts didn’t feel too tight, I think it was bunching up skin creating creases around my butt causing chafing.

3 Likes

I like having 2 saddles that my underside enjoys, and switching between the 2. Even if they’re similar shape, the different pressure points helps in alleviating the pain.

5 Likes

As well V as considering sizing you might want to try a different brand of cycling shorts too? Try a pair of Assos? (seems to be the only thing you haven’t changed?..but $$$).

Tee tree oil was a good remedy for me, but it doesn’t seem like remedies are the problem

4 Likes
  • What were you doing before that?

• What is your current training setup (bike, trainer with respect to your outside setup)?