Restarting training After Concussion

I am just over a year into recovering from a concussion suffered in a motor vehicle accident.
My biggest symptom/disability is pressure in my head and an inability to spend any significant time in front of a computer (of course, I am a computer consultant). I have tried to return to work and it wasn’t pretty. 2-4 hours of work felt like 10-12. I basically worked a few hours, ate lunch and slept.

Physically I am fine. I can ride, my balance is good, but my fitness has taken a hit, and my weight is up. I have little motivation to get on a bike and have spent most of the past year doing trail work.

A neurologist who examined me recommended 3 sessions of HIIT per week. I looked around in the training plans and only sprint triathlon looked like it might fit the bill, but I’m a mountain biker. Should I wade through the custom plans, or plan builder? Was hoping for something easy because time on the computer isn’t my thing right now.

P.S. Now that the snow is falling, build season is over and I have more time, so mid-level plan would be ok.

Sorry for your injury and long recovery. That must be tough to handle.

As far as plans, a few options to review might be the “Enthusiast” plans under the Specialty section:

• The Low Volume versions have just 3 workouts per week and definitely fall under the HIIT heading.

• Maintenance offers two phases, each with 8-week blocks for 16-weeks total if you did both.

• Time Crunch 30 or 45 (workout length) each are 8-week blocks

• I’m no coach or doctor, but time of year may matter a lot less than the place you are starting. I say this with the general consideration that starting back into training may well be done safer with an easier plan and/or progression than those I shared above.

• The Traditional Base, Low Volume parts 1 & 2 might be worth a look for something with less intensity.