Rest time - how long is enough after 11 months of hard work

Hello everyone. I have been training really hard for last 11 months (all indoor) . First 6 months 4 times a week and than 5 times a week. As a result I managed to rise my FTP from 160W to 225W and lose 12kg (72kg ->60kg). Next week I am finishing my last planned part of structured training (BUILD 2 phase) and can’t wait to implement my gains outdoor. But, to be honest at the moment I can feel the symptoms of overtraining and generally feel tired (both physically and mentally) so I need a good rest. How long is long enough but not too long? What you usually do during this period?

I think many say, until you feel like training again. Your body has a knack for sending you signals. You might feel these to a lesser extent during recovery weeks where you feel like crap the first few days, but then as the week goes on you start to look forward to the next block.

You should do what you like, but most importantly eat and sleep. Walking is a good way to get some exercise during this period without overdoing it.

Most likely you aren’t overtrained and this won’t take long. I’ve heard chad say 2 days completely off the bike to start, but you may need a bit more time than that. I’d say, don’t worry about getting back on the bike until you want to. When you want to, you’ll know you are ready.

2 Likes