My training has fallen off a cliff

As the title says, my training has completely fallen apart. I am in my second year of structured training with TR, and my forth year of riding. I am 38 years old and about 192 lbs (87 kgs) at 6’1" (185 cm) with a ftp of 248. For context I have lost 80 lbs (36 kgs) over the last couple years.

I’m in a week of “recovery” and I can barely finish 30 minutes of endurance work. During Andrews this morning, i pulled the plug after 40 minutes with a skyrocketing heart rate. The last few weeks, the workouts have become nearly impossible to finish. Sweet spot feels like vo2, and I’m typically very good at that kind of work. I have retested and my ftp has remained about the same.

I have a physical job (carpenter), and I have recently taken on more responsibility. I know this additional stress takes a toll, but I don’t think it would fold me like this.

Perhaps the change of seasons and the switch to only indoor riding is getting to me, but last season that actually helped me focus my efforts.

I am just finishing LVSSBII with additional endurance rides and strength training added in with at least two rest days a week. Since I have fallen apart, i am a bit worried about starting the build phase since I can’t even handle Pettit right now. I don’t think volume is my issue and even a couple of weeks ago, I felt like I could handle much more volume but didn’t want it to impact my job.

Should I take a few weeks off and restart my plan? Is there any way to get back on track without restarting? Are these setbacks typical? I’m training for a couple of races in the spring ( if we can safely gather) and would really like to continue my progression towards them.

Any insights would be appreciated. Thanks.

1 Like

Sounds like you’ve transformed your body over the last couple of years - well done! Such massive changes, intensive training and a physical job is all going to take a toll.