Recommended training plan - marathon MTB race prep

Hello! Just started on TR with my ramp test and will roll into the low volume sweet spot base phase. I am preparing for a marathon MTB race that is in 18 weeks. What would be a good 2nd and 3rd phase to prepare for that race?

What additional info do you need from me to help with that decision? I’ve been riding for 2-3 years now and would say I have decent fitness. I have completed this race twice before but would like to significantly improve on my time. My PR is 6 hrs 45 min. My stretch goal is to finish in less than 6 hours.

Base: Sweet Spot Base I, followed by Sweet Spot Base II (12 Weeks Total)
Build: General Build (8 Weeks)
Specialty: Cross-Country Marathon (8 Weeks)

1 Like

Thanks for the reply, Chad. I’ve got 18 weeks until the race. I like the idea of doubling up on base, but I won’t be able to do all 4 stages above, so I’ll have to choose. If you were to narrow that down to 3 things, which 3 would it be?

It’s not a “double” of base. The Sweet Spot Base is a 2-stage process.
It is intended to be complete in sequence, just as shown.

For not having enough time to complete a full B/B/S plan, see the following for recommendations:

I think you have more to gain from following the full Base and Build, and shorten the Specialty phase. The first two phase are where the bulk of your fitness will be gained. The Specialty is more about honing that fitness to a fine point and getting that last 2-5% of prep.

2 Likes