Recent Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS/Route problem [bogus off-route alerts]

I’ve been using a Bolt for ~15 months and it’s worked flawlessly, including an end-to-end across France where everyone else’s Garmins were playing up continuously. That was then…

I bought a Varia a couple of weeks ago and paired it up with the Bolt, and since then I’ve had a specific recurring problem following any Route.

NB it’s quite possible (probable) the Varia pairing and usage is merely a coincidence, but I mention it here because it (or the Bolt firmware update that made it possible) are the only obvious things that have changed in my setup and usage pattern

THE PROBLEM:
While riding a Route (created in Komoot), as I approach to within a couple of hundred meters or so of a Cue point, the Bolt will often flash the red LEDs and give an audible warning that I’ve gone off route.

I haven’t gone off route, and the map shows me bang on route, but the visual and audible warnings say I’m off route, and the “Distance to Cue” field temporarily goes blank (“-”) as it does when you legitimately go off route.

These bogus “off route” warnings are immediately followed by the Bolt signalling (via LEDs and sound) that I’m back on route, and the Distance to Cue field shows the correct distance. This off-route / back-on-route sequence might occur between one and half a dozen-ish times as I approach a cue point, and occasionally after the cue point.

NB I ride mainly down empty lanes and there are no cars around when this is happening, ie. I’m not confusing radar warnings for off-route warnings.

I’ve ridden 3 or 4 rides in the past week or two where this problem occurs (and it’s occurred on every ride since the Varia install), all along familiar roads which never previously caused the GPS/Route functionality to trigger any bogus off-route warnings. Now, it seems that about 25-40% of my route cues trigger these bogus warnings. It’s a right PITA, bleeping away at junctions like Space Invaders…