Racing even without friends?

I hope I am putting this in the right spot. I am very new to this and very new to actually dedicated training and racing. (Used to just casually ride some but that’s all I did) Well one thing I noticed is I do not live by bikers… if I drive 3 hours there are TONS of bike clubs and they do weekly rides and train together. Obviously having a full time job (at hospital so very odd hours) i can’t make it to group rides much since that is so far away. how can I go about training so I feel comfortable racing? I am getting nervous and feeling like I never can race because I always read that you have to train with people and that just is not even possible. Any tips at all and encouragement would be so appreciated. I had been going so hard and seeing so much improvement on TR so had signed up for ones I felt would be good… now that I see this it kind of super bummed me out…

Thanks for anything.

Pedal on :heart:

Calling @SonyaLooney, @runriderandi, and other female cyclists to help with this one. Thanks!

1 Like

Practicing riding in a bunch before jumping into racing in preferable but not essential. It will depend on the club you race with, but some will have a beginner grade which will roll around with an instructor for a while before having a short race at the end. Check if any of the clubs you want to race with have this or a “New Rider Day” where you can dip a toe.

1 Like