My first race is in 3 days! Any advice for me?

Hey everyone, I’ve just signed up for my first race. It’s in three days!

I’ve been riding on my own for a couple of years, been on a few group rides, and have been doing base TR workouts for a couple of months (just finished my first base phase, actually). I’m 45, 6’1", 200 lbs, FTP of 225.

The race is just 25 miles (4 x 6.2 mile loops), and with my stats and relative lack of experience, I’m just looking to breathe hard, have fun, and finish - all while not making some stupid mistake that causes problems for me or the other riders.

I got my USA Cycling License today, and signed up for the Male Masters 35+ Cat 4,5 group.

On race day, I figure I’ll bring a tube, CO2, and tire levers. Unless I shouldn’t?

The route is pretty close to me, so I’m going to go ride few laps tomorrow on my lunch hour.

Any advice for a newbie?

Don’t chase breaks, but don’t let gaps in your own group tail you off the back. The front 1/3 is usually easier than the back third, all things considered. Stay efficient, and choose your wheels carefully and intentionally. Move up when it’s easy to, like staying on the same power another second as the group slows for a turn.Protect your front wheel, especially in 5.

1 Like

I wouldn’t bother - you should have officials and marshals on the course - they can get you back to your car if something goes wrong

Focus on familiarizing yourself with riding within a group. Don’t do anything unpredictable and watch the riders around you to see what they are doing. Most of all - have fun and don’t stress about your fitness

2 Likes

Thanks! “Protect my front wheel” - does that mean to watch out for people crossing in front of me?