Race Cancelled - need Plan Builder Advice

Gunnison Growler is cancelled so that moves my A race to the Gold Rush Gravel Grinder on June 13, about 8 weeks away. I did this Gravel Grinder last year: it is 70 miles of rolling hills, 4:40 to complete, 3700 vertical feet, 340 TSS and i did it around a .84 IF.

Tonight, i plugged all that into Plan Builder and selected Expert (i have been racing and doing structured intervals for about 4 years now) and i was VERY SURPRISED to see NO Base or Build and directly into SPECIALTY with a ton of VO2 WO (again race is 8 weeks away).

Now, if i switched from Expert to Advanced, it prescribes 3 weeks of Base, 3 Weeks of Build and 1 Week of Specialty, with a rest week. Therefore, selecting Advanced gives me way more Threshold work.

The race itself, rolling hills is seemingly mainly Threshold work due to its length.

What am i missing here. Should i select Expert (even though i am suspect about doing a ton of VO2 work)? Or should i go with Advanced and focus more on Threshold?

I was using Plan Builder for the Growler and I was doing a good deal of SS and Threshold and was doing well.

Appreciate any and all feedback from the TR Community!!

It’s been a while since I set my Plan Builder up so please forgive me if I’ve got this confused.

How many training hours/days did you select? Could the focus in VO2 be coming from what Plan Builder considers to be a shortage of time?

Could also be that based on the information you’ve provided for Expert, Plan Builder estimates you have sufficient Base and fitness/experience to handle this level of work.

Personally, I’d go the advanced route. That said, are you racing this event and if so, WHAT are YOUR goals?

8 weeks away, a bit late for race prep. you should have base already. I would assume that’s the reason.