PRP injection vs Heavy Slow Resistance for Tendonsis

What have been peoples experience with PRP injection or “Heavy Slow Resistance” training for quadriceps tendonsis?

I have had quadricep tendonsis for about 6 months and rest/PT has not resolved it. Any thoughts/experiences on these other treatment modalities?

1 Like

The data is very much mixed on PRP as a legitimate form of treatment. I have no experience with it treating a quad, but I did have it for Achilles Tendinitis back in 2009. Long story short, it got me back to about 70% but my rehab process was interrupted after a week due to a blood clot and pulmonary embolism. (Untreated to the PRP).

Could it have gotten me to go full strength without the interuption, I’ll never know….

My first recommendation would be to try other PT / therapists first and see if you can find one that can help resolve your issue. If you have done that and are out of options ( and have the finances to pay for PRP since most insurance doesn’t’t cover it), there is no downside to PRP (other than the usual risks of such a procedure…infection, etc). You are just injecting yourself into you, so there is almost zero risk of anything adverse happening.

1 Like

I domt know if it would work for quad tendonosis, but i had patella tendonosis and had a doctor do dry needling and it worked like a charm, solved it in a few days after dealing with it for months. May want to ask about that

2 Likes

Sadly, this past year I’ve had a couple injuries.
I tore my left hip labrum and partially tore my left patella tendon. I received stem cell, and a subsequent PRP injection for the torn labrum, and a PRP injection for the partially torn patella.