Who has overcome patellar tendonitis?

Hello,

Just checking in to learn more about patellar tendonitis. I’ve been riding and racing for 30 years now…never had and knee problems in my 20’s, sometimes in the spring ramp up in my 30’s, had a touch of it most springs in my 40’s, and now that I am 50 it has been on and off for a few months.

-Most of my racing is 20-40K TT’s but I’ve raced in a lot of different events including a couple of 25-30 hour gravel races and a full randonneur series in the past.
-It never hurts on the bike! Never!
-But I feel it the night after a hard ride or two nights after a hard ride
-Lifted weights over the winter, really love my dead squat bar, worked up to 2 sets of 185# X 10 reps after 3 warmup sets…no knee pain from this
-A single dose of 200-400mg ibuprofen resolves the pain and I can train a day later. Usually causing it to flare up again. (I know, I’m an idiot about this)
-Pain will move around…just below the patella, just above the patella, but always the ligament or tendon. It switches legs seemingly randomly.

Work schedule changed (less!) so I’m booking my annual visit with a GP and I’ll go over this but would like to know something more beforehand.

So far I’ve found…quad and hammie stretches, wall-sits, partial squats with ramped foot, cross fiber massage.

I have access to a class 4 therapy laser and…doesn’t seem to do anything.

Thanks guys :slight_smile:

1 Like

I suffered with the same issue for a while, including having the pain after riding but not during! - I know a common recommendation when experiencing knee pain (if you haven’t already had one) is to get a bike fit.