Possible to get to 190 FTP in 6 months?

Hi, all, I’ve been cycling for around 2 years (1 year using TR). I’ve done the math and think I need to get to 190W FTP (at 55kg bodyweight as a 24 year old female) to keep up with this group ride I really have been wanting to join for the longest time.

I’ve never been completely consistent on a plan (high volume first, then mid volume) and I also broke my elbow riding outdoors which kept me off the bike for months. At my peak I’ve been at around 160 ftp and around 150 ftp right now after around 1 month off the bike due to a second surgery for my elbow. My starting ftp (from almost no training–just a couple of Zwift plans–was around 137–but that might have been incorrectly low since looking back at my training history I was able to complete Tallac +3 (SS 7.8) my second week of TR training).

If I stay consistent on a mid-volume plan, do you think it’s possible to get to 190 FTP in 6 months time? I know everyone is different and it’s impossible to know until I try, but I’m just trying to figure out whether this is a crazy goal or whether I might actually be able to join and keep up with this group ride if I’m consistent about my TR training on mid volume for around 6 months.

1 Like

Train as best as you can and see what happens.
In the meantime, join the ride and see how you get on. It might not be as bad as you think.

2 Likes

You can definitely do it :sunglasses:

But it’s best to be consistent.

For me personally, I follow a low volume plan, so 3 days of training spread out throughout the week ( but that gives me days to recover and do other things off the bike).

But also don’t obsess about that number. It’s a target definitely. But you might exceed it…

2 Likes