Going from 189 FTP to 220 as a beginner

Hi, I am 52, male, 5’9", 159lbs, and have been riding for 14 months. I began using TrainerRoad about 3 months ago and have gone from an FTP of 158 to 189 in that time. To get to that 189 I began with 6 weeks of Mid-Volume II then 8 weeks of Sustained Mid Volume Build. To keep up with fast group rides I think I need to get to 3.0 wkg, a 220 FTP. Is it reasonable to expect this kind of improvement at my age? Any sense of what a realistic time frame would be to achieve this? I can afford to train about 7-10 hours week. Thanks!

2 Likes

I’m 50, 76 kg and 228 FTP resulting in 2.99 w/kg (that’s close enough for me to 3.0). I’ve been using tRainerrOad for two years bouncing back and forth between low and mid volume. I’d say it’s entirely plausible to get to 3.0 w/kg. Give it time.

1 Like

must… not… edit post… :stuck_out_tongue:

14 Likes

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

My gift to you having to man ‘The Threads’

2 Likes

Everyone is different and I don’t want to talk an absolutes, but I think with commitment and consistency a w/kg in the range of 3.0-3.5 is reasonably achievable for most people.

Can you give more detail on your success criteria? You say you want to “keep up” with the fast groups. Does that mean you’re getting dropped now? If so, why are you being dropped? Do you just blow up half way around? Is there a climb during a part of the ride that blows creates a gap you can’t make up? Do you just want to finish with the group, or also be able to contribute at the front too? What makes you think a 30 watt increase will make up this difference?

If you share your profile data, I’m happy to have a look at your training over the past few months and offer any insights I can see.

1 Like

I think the short answer is… Yes. Absolutely. It’s reasonable.