Plan that fits commute training

So, looking at this from the angle of what suits me rather than what suits the race.

I’ve been training indoors for seven years, loved it. Decided to change to outdoors, and with my local terrain the long sweet spot, tempo, threshold workouts are awkward.

There’s one road within a twenty minute ride I can do 10-12min sweet spot interval on and I hate it. I will never do this road every week, let alone twice a week. I don’t have time to drive somewhere to ride a bike, I ride from the front door.

Consistency > Specificity

Training success and consistency is dependant on minimising the hurdles, so I’m looking for a plan that has;

2x 45-60 mins sprint sessions (commute)
2x 60-75 mins endurance or recovery (commute)
1x 3-4hr endurance (weekend/club ride)
1x 45mins short vo2

Plan builder is giving me workouts I can only do indoors; general build, tri build and tri speciality.

The best fit I think is time crunched 45mins…seems weird for 8-10hrs cycling a week.

I would use train now for the sprint commutes, then just change it to an outside workout and you’re set.

For the endurance rides, just ride your bike with a “max power” in mind that you don’t go over. No need to pick out a workout for that.

Also, I doubt that weekend club ride is an endurance ride. Just ride it and let RLGL do its magic.

2 Likes

I like @Chewie’s suggestion to use TrainNow for sprint workouts. I also think they’re probably correct that the weekend/club ride you’ve got listed there isn’t strictly Zone 2… unless you’re riding with some really disciplined folks! :wink:

If the club ride is harder than Zone 2 pace, you may only need one sprint session instead of 2. That’d give you 3 days of intensity each week – 1 sprint workout, 1 VO2 workout, and the club ride.

The rest of the week you could fill in with Zone 1/2 riding.