Plan builder says 3 weeks base and 8 weeks specialty, I'm thinking other way around

I started training last October for my A race on March 28 (obviously cancelled). I did a modified versions of High volume SS Base, Sustained Build, and Marathon MTB Specialty. I shut things down last week and I’m planning to take it easy-ish the next couple weeks and start over with structured training again April 6th. My A+ event is Leadville on Aug 16th and I’'ve got my fingers crossed it’s still going to happen. Otherwise, just more training for fun…

Anyway, I tried plan builder and it suggested 3 weeks SSBuild, 8weeks Sustained Build, and 8 weeks specialty. That’s really only 2 weeks of base work (after taking a few easy weeks off) and then a rest week before jumping back into build. While I feel like I’ve still got solid fitness right now, I’m leaning toward at least 6 weeks of base and cutting specialty down to 5 weeks. Maybe even 8 weeks base and 3 weeks specialty (basically just a little tuning and taper).

Part of this is me wanting a bit of a reboot before getting back into build intensity and part of it is that I feel like my base might need work since I’ve been mostly doing build and specialty since mid December. I also feel like the first month of build gives me a nice fitness bump and then it’s a lot of fatigue without much additional return for the balance of build and into specialty (so better to cut specialty short a bit). I’m 51 and tend to be a steady state diesel type and v02 work just wears me down.

Is there any reason plan builder is suggesting such a short base phase in favor of a full 8 weeks of specialty? For those of you who have tried to do 2 full training cycles in one season, do you have any advice on whether to go back with significant base work vs. minimal base?

The Plan Builder prioritizes your phases based on your self-declared experience level.

• Beginner/Intermediate - More Base is most beneficial