Pedals, position and power reading

Hi all,

I’ve been using PowerTap P1s for a couple of years and it’s always nagged at me that the reading changes depending on my position on the bike, and perhaps how I’m pedalling.

Has anyone nailed this down as to whether it’s a real phenomenon for a start, and then what the cause is?

I use a dumb trainer, the resistance is fixed. I have to change gear to increase or reduce resistance.

If I’m doing 90rpm and the power meter says 180W, I can shift to aero position - still doing 90rpm at the same resistance - yet the meter reading will drop to 165-170W.

So before anyone leaps in and says “it’s normal to lose 10W in aero”, I can’t be…If I have the same resistance and the same rpm, I must be outputting the same watts, right?

I think I get the same still upright, if I change the ‘feel’ of my pedalstroke to be more stompy I see less power. If I kick over the top more, a more circular feeling stroke, I see more watts…but again this is the same rpm at the same resistance…am I going mad?

Cheers Joe

I used these same pedals, but tbh have not noticed different reading in different position. It is pretty hard to produce constant reading with each stroke, especially with single side PM. It is an interesting observation though. Would it make you feel better with that aero position probably saves you those 10 watts or even more, depending on speed. I also used power smoothing in TR to get more consistent readings as these were jumping too much, I think 3-5 revolutions average.

Reason I stopped using mine was slightly different, I noticed I started stomping on pedals to hit power targets and it completely ruined my smooth stroke and the speed as a result.

Wonder what others say.

Peak power, power duration and power timing will all affect the reported power data, especially when you are measuring at the pedals. They are effectively more sensitive because they are closer to the power origin.