Left only power meter, inconsistent leg balance?

So, this is my first week with TR and I’m relatively new to indoor training (damn COVID). I recently bought a 4iiii left side power meter for my training and I noticed something: at the tempo zone my left leg starts outputting significantly less power (about 20 watts of difference) at times when compared to my right leg and this only appears to happen at this zone. Also, since this imbalance isn’t constant I really cannot just adjust the settings of my power meter.

Do you guys think this will be a problem? Thanks for your input!

How do you know it is 20 less watts if you have a left only power meter? What trainer are you using?

2 Likes

I noticed that my power dropped by that amount while the speed, cadence and gears remained constant. Plus the power went back up after I consciously started to balance the power output. I have a dumb magnetic trainer.

How long have you been riding when you see this? 10 minutes plus? I assume you are holding the same cadence at the same resistance setting.

I ask as you’re tire could ‘speed up’ after a few minutes so if you are holding the same cadence at the same resistance level, your actual power needed to do that will drop…

That could just be natural left/right imbalance in your pedalling. If when you’re not concentrating you favour your right leg, or you shift position slightly, then with a 55/45 split that would give you the 20W difference at 200W.
With a left only power meter I’ve noticed that the value drifts down when I’m tired and favour my right leg, also, changes in position can make quite a big difference.

2 Likes