Pearl Izumi vs The Black Bibs for Shorts & Bibs

Does anyone have experience with these brands’ shorts or bibs? Which would you recommend and why? With an Expert Voice discount the prices end up being very comparable for at least the bottom and middle tiers. There is a bit more of a price differential for the highest tier. TIA.

I have multiple pairs of PI bibs in different levels. I’ve got absolutely nothing bad to say about any of them.

1 Like

For cold weather gear, I don’t think anyone beats Pearl Izumi.

I’m not very familiar with their warm weather stuff as I mostly use my club kit.

3 Likes

I have had good and bad experiences w/ Pearl Izumi…

For many years, they were my go-to brand…this was mostly back in the 90’s when we sold them at the shop I managed and then later when I worked in the industry in CO (not for PI).

In the mid-teens, we used them for our club kit and many of us had issues with chafing from their chamois……we’d get a “quarter moon on our half-moon”, if you follow what I am saying. Some flat out stopped wearing the shorts and binned them.

Around that time, I also got a couple of pairs of their Pro shorts (not team affiliated). Zero problems with those. After a few years, the silicone grippers on one pair totally dried out and made the shorts unwearable. PI had excellent warranty and replaced them, no questions asked.

The replacement pair of Pro shorts were significantly better, as well….improved chamois, laser cut bib straps, etc. They are some of my favorite bibs today, especially for long trainer rides (wore them today for the BMTR Centruy ride on Zwift).

No experience with Black Bibs for their shorts, but I did get their basic black vest last year and it has been very good.

3 Likes

Redwhite bibs blow them both out of the water. Last longer, better chamois, no tax no shipping. Delivered in 5 days.