Off season strength advice

Hi all

I am new to structured training and plan to start my off season at the start of October and do around 8 weeks of strength work, possibly complimented by a low volume plan. (To be followed in Dec by SSB plan)

The issue I have is I’ve never done strength training before (not been in gym for 10years!), and thus am quite apprehensive about doing weights and mainly of reducing my cycling volume (I usually ride unstructured but consistent volume all year round, so this will be a big drop in usual on the bike volume for 8 weeks).

I have read a few of the forums on this topic, but am mainly looking for general advice In this area (for such a strength newbie) and whether my plan to undertake strength training is a good one to make me stronger in the bike next season?

Many thanks

1 Like

Great resource with most the info you should need.

5 Likes

Thanks. Good video. Sounds like the answer is : yes it’s worth doing 8+ weeks of strength training.

Feels like I’ll be best placed to speak to a trainer in the early sessions to help with form on squats and deadlifts also having never done them.

Any other tips greatly appreciated.

Thanks

That’s a very good idea. Squat and deadlift form can be very hard to get right. Most personal trainers offer single sessions where you can just get an hour for $50 or so. I’ve done that just to have them review deadlift form before.

1 Like

A 5x5 plan might work for you, Ive used one since last October and Im also a newbie to lifting.

2 Likes

absolutely.

I really like Dylan Johnson videos, however Frank Overton of FasCat has even better coverage of resistance training in two podcasts starting with this one:
https://fascatcoaching.com/tips/resistance-training-for-cycling/

and then a podcast walking you thru each week of the 10-week plan, you literally could do the plan just listening to this podcast: