Looking for input / opinions as I start to build out my plan for next year

About me:

• 54 (will be 55 in January)
  • I work in the Tech industry, and currently on 100% work from home, with the ability to block time on my calendar. I usually work 45 - 60+ hours, with too many Zoom calls
  • I started riding / racing in college, and raced for ~7 years before business school in Chicago killed that. After a hiatus for ~8 years, I’ve been back riding for about the last 11 years.
  • I currently live in San Francisco
  • During the week, all of my riding is on the trainer - currently a Stages SB20
  • I will get out at least one of the weekend days, weather permitting
  • For the last 5 - 6 years, I’ve had a frustrating pattern of having a good build for 6 - 8 months, getting strong (for me), and then crashing and burning - re-aggravating my knees (old injuries), fatigue crash, something - to reseting to where I was at the beginning of the season
  • Because of the recurring knee issues, I’m doing an 8 week focused knee strengthening program, and I will complete this before I start my 2022 Season
  • I ride a mix of road / gravel

Goals:

• Raise my FTP - so that I can hang better on group rides and enjoy them more
  • Get a full season in without crash and burning, so I can string multiple seasons together to really raise my FTP
  • Have fun

Events as of now:

• Weather permitting, I will do Rapha Festive 500
  • Levi’s Gran Fondo, currently May, 2022 - this is a postponement from Sept, 2020

Proposed plan options for 2022 Season - starts early October

• planning on doing all blocks in sub-blocks of 3 active / 1 recovery week

Plan A - mapped out ~44 weeks

• 12 weeks of something like traditional base + strength training
  • 4 weeks of VO2 max - starting with short (e.g., 30/30s), and work up to 1 or 1:30 intervals + maintenance strength / core / knee work