Numbers after workout and workout intensity

Hi,
I am pretty new to TR and like it so far. My first question is regarding the Numbers displayed at the bottom of an interval. The first wattage number is often lower than the second one, e.g. 267/275. I guess the first number is the achieved wattage, the second the set value for the respective interval. I don’t really understand why the deviation of these two numbers is quite high, sometimes around 5 to 7 watts even though I use Erg mode.

Before TR I was doing a Zwift Training Plan where I could get quite some gains. I joined TR because of the versatility and kind of including outdoor rides (I use a combination of RL/GL and TrainNow for now). However, the workouts sometimes feel pretty easy. Is trainnow usually intended to preserve the form or to build up?

If you have a trainer with a flywheel there are some inertia in it due to it’s rotational speed. When a higher power is demanded the flywheel absorbs some of the energy and begins to slow down. This is when you feel the added resistance and start to increase your effort trying to maintain your cadence. The opposite occur in the end of the interval. The discrepancy you experience is from this process.
Depending on your gearing, the time until your trainer have settled in the demanded resistance varies.
With some practice it is quiet easy to minimize this effect. If you use a slightly lower cadence during the rest interval you can start to increase it to your target cadence during the countdown. This builds inertia into the flywheel and helps the trainer reach it’s set point.

What level workout are you doing? Being new to TR I am guessing it may just be that your PL levels are low. Since you are doing train now workouts you can choose a “stretch” workout or select a workout from the library that you feel is your level and try it out. You can get it dialed in pretty quickly.