Newbie training plan help please

Hi all,

I’m a 41 year old female and I have a running background. I’ve got into cycling in the last couple of years and have done a few centuries but I’ve never followed any sort of training plan on the bike - I’ve just got on and ridden wherever I fancy with whatever time I have available. I live in the Yorkshire Dales so it’s pretty hilly - the UCI men’s race will be going right past my door in a couple of weeks time :slight_smile:

I’m well used to following training plans with marathon training and I’m very happy to trust that they will work (I’m a scientist in real life so don’t have a problem with trusting Data driven plans!). I really enjoy cycling and seem to be doing ok at it so I’d like to see what I can do when I properly train. I’ve entered the Tour of Cambridge next year and the women’s race is done on the Medio course - they’ve not released the route but last year it was 67 miles and flattish. My current FTP is 160 which makes me around 2.4W/kg. I could do with shifting 5-10kg…

The race is 38 weeks away so I have oodles of time. I just don’t know where to start! Should I do base, sweet spot, century? Do all of them? any of them twice? I just don’t know…

I have a fairly demanding job, young kids etc so I can carve time out to train but I don’t have time to watch endless podcasts / read forums on what my results mean and tweaking the plan. I want something I can follow and trust that it will give results. Any suggestions are very welcome :slight_smile:

Thanks Shell

If you follow a base → build → peak/Specialty plan that encompasses 28 weeks, leaving you 10 weeks to fit another plan in. Personally, I would go one of two routes given your goal is a century ride.