Newbie to "Efficient/ Effective" indoor trng (and TrainerRoad)

First off, your podcasts are fantastic! I’m learning so much each time I listen/ watch. Now onto my question(s)…

1. I really want to up my game for the 2020 Cross season (beginning late August here in the PNW)… how would I use Plan Builder when I don’t have a specific event per se? I’m using a Stages meter and a Wahoo Kickr Snap…
  2. I need to work running into my trng, as evidenced at CxNats this year… does TrainerRoad allow that type of “cross-pollination?”
  3. Lastly, I’m a career firefighter, so I work 24 hour shifts… I commute by bike (9-12 miles each way), but obviously wouldn’t be able to perform structured rides each day. Additionally, I will be in Maryland for two (2) weeks in early February. I will not have a bike. When should I start a training plan, and will my work schedule have a significant impact on a plan? I should have more “time” to do structured trng than someone working a normal schedule, but…
    Thanks again, guys and gal!!
  1. use the plan builder and pick an A race in the cyclocross season. If one race in particular isn’t of higher priority, probably target a race towards the back half of the season so you peak and can ride out the peak for the last week or two of the season.

2 / 3, How many days a week do you work and how many days a week do you have to train? I would say a low volume plan is probably the best fit for you which will have you on 3 workouts a week. I’m not a cyclocross or running expert, but I’d add in a day or two of easy easy running when possible just to get your joints up to pace.

Thank you, Pcort!! And Merry Christmas!

I work three (3) 24hr shifts in a nine (9) day period (ie: M/W/F, then off four (4), then W/F/Su (and repeat)), which has me bike commuting each morning, M-Sa, for example. We are required to work out each day, so I can run/ weights/ core each work day. Three (3) per wk should be very doable if I double up on commute home days.