New TR user looking for some advice

Hi there,

I just started using Trainerroad today. Coming from a year of ‘random whatever I feel like’ interval training on Zwift and a couple virtual races, I decided it’s time for some structure. So I started SSB MV1 and kicked it off with a ramp test today.

My plan is to go SSBMV1 --> SSBMV2 --> Sustained Power build

I have 2 questions:

1. I’m usually doing a group ride on sundays with a couple friends. Depending on who’s joining it can be a real 2-3h sufferfest, or relatively easy ride. Which ride in the plan should I replace with the group ride. Thought about the sunday workout, but that seems to be important with realitive long and hard SST intervals. As does the Over/Under workout.
  2. Should I also incorporate strength training for the legs and if so, on which days? Seeing as I’m new to the planned structure of training I’m afraid the strength training for the legs might gimp my ability to perform the harder workouts.

Some personal info:
Age 38
FTP (tested today) of 239W @ 75KG
PM: Favero Assioma Duo with Elite Direto
Taining experience: 1 year of Zwift. Virtually no aerobic training to speak of before that.
Goals: Join a couple short distance TTs (up to 10km). Perform a 100km TT in under 3 hours. Get fitter.

Hope you guys can give me some insight on these 2 topics. Thanks!

If you can make those goals more date-specific, i.e. identify a particular 100km TT you want to enter, you can use the new Plan Builder function to structure your training.

Do you know in advance whether Sunday is going to be a sufferfest? If you know it’s going to be hard, just do an easy ride on the trainer on Saturday. If it’s going to be easy, maybe do a shorter duration version of Saturday’s workout and then get the volume at a lower intensity on Sunday.