New to this, questions about sleep

Since I started the program I feel like a I need a crowbar to pry myself out of bed in the morning. I have never been much of a morning person but this is a noticeable shift. I have been getting the same amount of sleep but do I need to plan for more sleep while doing this stuff? Is there an adjustment period?

Background: I am 48 (49 next month). I am relatively new to cycling altogether having started 3 years ago to lose weight. I have improved my diet as well. I am completely new to structured cycling training.

2 Likes

I don’t mean to be dismissive, but if you feel like you need more sleep then get more sleep. Everyone has different experiences and there is no one-size-fits-all approach to a lot of issues like sleep

1 Like

How much is Same Amount?

When I am training hard, I need more sleep than when I am in the off season. 9 hours is what I need per night during hard training, easy life periods. Hard training, hard life and I need more (but get less).

As @onemanpeloton said - if you need more sleep, then get more sleep.

I also feel like I need more sleep when training. It’s not always possible to squeeze in a few more hours at night, but I found naps during the day pretty helpful. Instead of going out to eat on my lunch break at work, I nap instead. In order to accomplish this I pack my lunch and eat it while I’m actually “working” to take advantage of the full break hour. I can fall asleep anywhere, so I can usually net a good 30-45 minutes of nap-time.

My second point is to try and maximize sleep hygiene to get the best night sleep possible.
Things I’ve done:

• Avoid any stimulants too close to bed, so no caffeine for me past 2pm or so.
  • Late workouts tend to make it difficult for me to fall asleep, so I try to do them earlier in the day.
  • I try and avoid any electronics 1-2 hours before bed. And if I do need to use my cellphone, I have the night mode blue light filter set to automatically engage with sunset.