Need advice concerning adaptive training and RLGL

Hello everyone,

I am currently on a mid volume plan which I pretty much follow correctly. I also have RLGL/adaptive training active.
Normally on Sunday I have to do an endurance workout for 2 hours.
I don’t do this and do an outdoor club ride instead. This often generates quite some tss.

This has the effect that the weekly Vo2 workout on Tuesday gets changed to a recovery workout.
I always accept the change, however, I always keep doing recovery on Tuesday, endurance on Wednesday, SST on Thursday and threshold on Saturday.

Wouldn’t it be better for me to always swap the real workouts around? Because at the moment I am never doing Vo2. Is it better to do 1 week of Vo2 and SST, 1 week of SST and Threshold, 1 week of Vo2 and Threshold, …?

A bit more information about myself and goals:
I have been using TR plans for a few years now. Currently training for 14 months straight now without a real break. In 2 months I plan to do a 175km ride with 4500m of elevation gain (event at the Ventoux).

Thanks in advance for your insights!

1 Like

In general, I’d like to get some Vo2 work in and so would alternate the vo2/threshold workouts.

There is the idea that vo2 work will raise the ceiling so everything below it will benefit and it is just more interesting to do some.

That said, with a goal of climbing Ventoux, I wouldn’t think you would be spending much time at vo2 max, so if you are find it too taxing, you might prefer to concentrate on sweetspot/Threshold.

2 Likes

if you go to the start of the block on the calender and click that block (eg base 2)

you then get the option of reconfiguring days, just drag and drop style

why not try a block of making tuesday the scheduled recovery ride and stack the interval days. V02 wednesday and SS on thursday is often how i pair workouts.