My sprint power is off the chart!

Err…off the bottom of the chart. :disappointed:

Did the TR group workout built for Hunter Allen’s power profile anlysis in a group workout the other day. First time I’ve ever operated my trainer in anything but erg mode. Well, 2nd time…I got on an hour before the group workout just to get a feel for what gearing/cadence generated what kind of power.

Anyhow, my threshold power is somewhere in the middle of the chart but my sprint power is well off the bottom. Which is not a surprise or even a problem…looking at my workout log I last did a sprint specific workout in 2017 when I completed a Burgomaster protocol. Except for form sprints Chad has me doing on EZ days.

Since I’ve got some ‘pandemic time’ on my hands, maybe I’ll do some dedicated sprint work this summer and see how much I can bring it around.

2 Likes

the coggan chart is made up of neo-pros from the 90s skewed towards sprinters. FFT Rank My Watts as a Cyclist! [Quick link: fft.tips/rankme] - Google Sheets is from 5000 ‘normal’ riders with power meters.

3 Likes

which trainer do you have? Recently on my Kickr direct-drive I’ve played around with level/standard vs resistance and my best sprints were done using level/standard.

WKO has age adjusted power profiles. My favorite is the Xert chart, you can see both absolute (W) and relative (W/kg) and in addition compare against different age groups.

Eh… trainer sprinting isn’t the same. I’ve never cracked 1000W on the trainer, but have done 1200 outside. Probably wouldn’t read too much into sprint numbers on the trainer unless you’re just going to be e-racing.

4 Likes