Looking for Feedback on my effort in Jepson

I’m pretty new to this whole structured training business as I’ve only been on TR since January. I’m really enjoying the workouts indoors on my Stages Bike especially using Erg to keep my efforts on-target. What I have noticed is the sprint type workouts are easy-ish for me. Take today’s Jepson workout below. I have no trouble hitting the requested power and so the rest of the sub-FTP efforts don’t strain me. So I started messing with my cadence to see what would happen during the sprints. The last set is the only one where I really “pegged” it, starting from a low 60rpm cadence just to “put more” into my legs and hopefully “help” the trainer respond to the sprint.

So what I’m wondering is - Am I approaching this session properly? What would you recommend I change or do differently?
—Note I understand ERG and sprints are a bad combo—
Side note - I’ve wondered if it makes sense to put a “1-2 second step” in these sprint work-outs to help ease the transition into the sprint for the rider and trainer. Could do the same on the back-end to help the trainer maintain and reduce the “abruptness” of the drop post-sprint.
Thanks for your insight,
SuperSArni

Nice work!

I’d suggest doing this workout in resistance mode instead of erg. Then you can sprint to your hearts content

I did this workout today. Congratulations, looks like you had a great session :+1:

I’m not sure I’d tell you to do anything differently. In fact, I think we both approach the bursts in a similar fashion. I do use ERG for all of my workouts and I, like you, drop my cadence down before each burst. I find that this gives me more muscle activation.

In a hard group ride or race, you can find yourself in the ‘wrong’ gear yet you still have to get the power down and get on top of the gear.

I would say that I don’t suffer from any knee pain and I track my knees during every workout. What works for me might not be the best or advisable for another rider.

2 Likes