Left Di2 buttons free on 1X setup. What to assign to?

What do people use the “free” Di2 Buttons on a 1X setup?

I’m taking delivery of a 1X gravel bike, with a Di2 12s Ultegra derailleur and shifters. The left shifter will be free, so I’m looking for inspiration on what to set the buttons on the left shifter to (also hood shifters).

I’m having a classified powerhub shift fitted, but will not modify the left shifter to connect to the classified system (which is something that can be done), as I ultimately will move those to my road bike when the GRX DI2 is available.

Will be running on a garmin 1040.

I don’t really use laps, so not planning to use those for that, unless someone has a good case for lap use (I don’t plant to use this bike for outside workouts other than Z2, adventure, and a few long distance events).

I’ve no personal experience but I’ve heard two general philosophies:

1. Program LH identical to RH so you’ve got redundancy in case one hand is off the bars or whatever.
  2. Program both RH buttons to shift one direction and both LH buttons to shift the other direction - meant to be particularly helpful if wearing bulky gloves in winter or other situations where finger dexterity might be compromised.
6 Likes

Agree with the above first one, nice for redundancy. As for hood shifters, I really like using them to cycle through data screens on Garmin and I use mine for laps in training/racing so I don’t have to reach for the head unit.

You can program a bunch of different functions for each button.
Single Press
Double Press
Press & Hold

I have double press take me immediately to my map, single press cycles the page left or right (depending on shifter) and hold either start/stop (left) or lap (right).

3 Likes

Ditto for dual sided shifters, but I use SRAM so it’s second nature. I do wish I had top buttons to scroll through data screens though, @wfenwick’s setup sounds pretty nice.

That’s pretty much I do on my road bike (2X Di2).