Leadville Equipment Dilemmas

Hey Leadville finishers- wanted to get your thoughts on some equipment dilemmas for LT100. (I pulled a golden ticket and got in via lottery after a few attempts. Plan on doing Tahoe Trail for training and corral placement.)

I’ve heard/read varying things about the difficulty of the descents- Powerline and Columbine I think feature most prominently. If not for the level of difficulty of those 2 descents, I think I would go hardtail.

1. Hardtail vs. full suspension? I am not a super adept bike handler- objectively, I think I am OK, maybe a 4 out of 10. I started riding MTB last year, culminating in La Ruta de Conquistadores. I chose hardtail for that race after similarly agonizing and turned out to be the right choice, esp. since there were so many sections of carrying and pushing. I survived day 3 on my hardtail at La Ruta if that helps anyone. I’ve listened to Nate’s LT100 podcast, and if I recall, Nate would veer hardtail, while Jonathan full?

Here’s my dilemma:
a. Yeti SB100, 120mm front/100mm rear. Just got this, love it. 24 lbs with dropper.
b. Felt Nine FRD, 100mm front. Shade under 19lbs. If hardtail, would you add a dropper?

1. Gearing. How fast were you going on flats? What gearing did you have? I’d prefer to stay 1x, but if need the top-end speed to stay in groups, I’d consider a 2x, since I don’t want to give up the big cogs and need to spin to save my knees.
    a. 32/10 gearing on Yeti = top speed 27.8MPH (32T; 10-50 Eagle)
    b. 28/11 gearing on Felt hardtail = top speed 22.1MPH (28T; 11-49 WolfTooth)
    c. 34/11 double on Felt hardtail = top speed 26.9MPH (34/24T; 11-49 WolfTooth)

2. Tires. I tend to baby my wheels, so I’ve never suffered a sidewall cut. And I am a chicken going down so I am not usually mashing through stuff. How true is it that you need heavier duty sidewalls? Nate seem to espouse lighter tires Maxxis Aspens or Schwalbe Ralph/TBurt. Which would you suggest?
    a. Schwalbe Ralph/Burt