Leadville Gearing and Aerodynamics

Hello everyone this is my first post here although I’ve been lurking for almost a year now. I am in the Leadville 100 for 2022 (sub 9 goal starting in purple corral) and wanted to ask the questions that have been swirling around in my mind since I knew I was in from the Leadville Stage Race back in August.

As I previously mentioned I did the Leadville Stage Race this last summer. Finished it in 9 hours. Beyond having a specific time goal I wanted to ride the entire course and not walk my bike at all which I was able to accomplish, although powerlines false summits really tested my resolve. There was 300 people at the event and I finished like 80th or somewhere near that. From looking at splits I noticed that on all the major climbs and descents I was in the top 30 on the day for Strava, but on all the flats was around 100-120. I have been training for maybe 10 months total so close to 8 months at the time of this race. I weigh 160 and had an FTP of 250. I’m comfortable in saying by this upcoming years Leadville 100 I will be around 300 with more training and dialed nutrition.

Gearing: I ride a 2020 Top Fuel 9.8 with Shimano XT 30 tooth chainring and I think it’s 10-51 cassette in the rear. I felt like to get up Columbine and Powerline I needed every bit of gearing I had, but on the flip side at the new single track bybass section inbound and some of the road spots I felt spun out and like I didn’t have enough gearing to paceline with the groups I was in. Assuming I get my FTP to 300 which for me will be a touch over 4w/kg should I adjust my gearing and if so by how much? Will going up in my gearing on a long day like Leadville take away from my climbing which is typically by biggest strength? I passed a ton of people going up Columbine and Powerline and don’t want to be joining the walking line.