Just how hard should sweet spot be?

Hi all,

I’m new to TR but not new to training. My previous training has never really consisted of sweet spot work- just a lot of suprathreshold work.

How hard should SS intervals feel? I’m in the 4th week of SSB mid volume, and while I haven’t done many long sweet spot intervals yet I don’t think getting through them is very difficult- certainly not matching up with Coach Chad’s text cues.

I have been thinking of bumping up the intensity a bit, but I’m facing a conundrum and am always open to opinions: I could certainly bump up the intensity a bit and suffer through a lot more, but I know that that’s not necessarily the goal of these sweet spot intervals.

What are your thoughts on this? Should there be a little more suffer going on? I think the longest I’ve done so far are 12 minutes, if that changes your answer.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Different people react to various types of training in a specific way. Sweet spot should feel doable, but with significant effort - you’re glad that an interval is over but if you had to, you’d be able to keep going. You’re not new to training and you’ve done a lot of suprathreshold work in the past, so you should have a pretty good ballpark FTP figure in mind, right?

How do the over/under workouts in the SSB plan feel? Do you also feel like it’s a smooth sailing through these at your current FTP? If yes, maybe you’re quickly responding to training stimuli and could use with bumping the intensity up a little bit. If over/unders still feel like over/unders - just stick to the current intensity.

I guess regardless of what you end up doing, you’re in week 4 out of 5 of real work, last week is easy and then you retest. Worst case scenario if you don’t up the intensity now, you’ll have an opportunity to do so in less than 3 weeks.

9 Likes