Sweet Spot Base - Easier with Adaptive? (SSB AT)

Hi all. I’ve been using TR for about 3 years now. I usually complete SSB I and II but to do so, I’ve had to add extra weeks to complete Palisade and the like… I’ve always found these to be really really tough. I’ve now just started SSBI LV and using Adaptive, the workouts are still hard but way more achievable. There’s nothing in my plan that looks remotely as tough as Palisade. I’m pretty sure my ftp is correct as I pushed the ramp as hard as usual. Don’t get me wrong, I’m more motivated than ever to do these workouts and enjoy them rather than dread them. But I can’t help thinking that they should be harder when I compare them to the old SSB. Anyone else had this experience? Is this the expectation or have I perhaps undercooked my ramp test? (It didn’t feel like it at the time)

1 Like

If you’re crushing the workouts the plan will get harder as you progress. Whereas before everyone was faced with those brutal workouts, not you’ll only get them if your training indicates that you can handle them. I think.

Not sure I’d say I’m crushing them (I wish). After a 2x20 session on Tuesday I set the “How’d it feel“ to medium and it then adapted my subsequent sweet spot sessions. I did a 90 min under/over on Sunday which was “Hard” but nowhere near as hard as the standard u/o sessions from the original pre-AT plans. The later u/o sessions were not modified. So it looks to me so far that the adaptions kick in only where you’ve said a workout was Medium difficulty…… ? I’m only starting week 3 so just trying to work out the levers. If it’s too easy I can always up the target ftp mid workout