JetBlack WhisperDrive Smart - ANY BODY ELSE HAVE PROBLEMS?

Hi All!

I have been using a JetBlack WhisperDrive Smart trainer, for about 10 months now.

I am having issues with erg mode just cutting our when I hit a new interval. I’ll be cruising at 130w and then the interval goes up and maybe go to 140w but never get’s any harder.

If I then switch to resistance mode theres no resistance - even at 100% resistance. I’ve used both Bluetooth and Ant+ with the same issues occurring. It happens been 30mins to end of the workout (1-1.5hrs). I’ve also updated firmware and checked many times.

It also has a really hard time calibrating! Might have something to do with it.

I’ve read some average reviews about it - see DC rainmakers interim review. But wanted to see if any body else is having trouble with the same trainer.

I’m tossing up just giving up on it and committing to a SSided power meter.

Would love to know if any body has any experience with this trainer or any thoughts on what to do other than just throw it out.

Cheers Team!

Johno

Hi Johno,
I am having exactly the same issue as you with the same trainer & setup. It is very frustrating, especially now with group workouts. I find myself spinning at 120rpm in the last set and pushing 180watts in the top gear. Like you, I’ve been trying (unsuccessfully) to update the firmware.
Please let me know if you find any solutions. I’ll I do love TrainerRoad but I’m going to cancel the membership if I can’t find a solution. I’m sick of doing 3/4 of a set.
Also, I’ve just read the review from DC Rainmaker that you posted. I’m worried now that we may just have a lemon of a trainer.
Garth

Has anyone reported these issues to support@trainerroad.com?

If so, what have they said?

1 Like

Hi all,