Increased Aerobic Decoupling During Recovery Week

Greetings,

I’m on the recovery week of the first half of Short Power Build and the plan has me doing short endurance workouts, with me completing Whorl this morning and Pettit on Tuesday. On Saturday it is Townsend.

I started training back in September and completed traditional base mid-volume, moved on into Sweet Spot Base Low Volume, and as noted I am on short power build.

I’m looking over my workouts and I not an elevated aerobic decoupling, with an 8% on Pettit and 6% on Whorl. BTW, I’m not engaging in the form sprints as I would have done in September. After all of that work, I would have expected seeing fairly low values as in my previous Pettit workout I was at 1% (about a month ago).

So, I figure these are the possibilities as to what that means:

1. This rest and recovery week is due and this is a sign of the hard work I’ve been doing
  2. Absolutely nothing, two points is not enough to make such a judgement
  3. Short Power Build is returning your power bands & cardiovascular system
  4. Is there something funky going on lifewise?

Looking over the data and comparing to my AED over the course of this training season I guess it is in line with what I was seeing towards the end of TB back in November but not with more recent endurance work.

TYIA

in my experience this is totally normal. Sometimes it winds up seeming like it’s because i’m more rested (so heart rate response faster), sometimes i wonder if it’s because things like plasma volume go away quickly, but also come back quickly once you start trainign again (same reason the first workout post-rest week can feel real bad).

I think the thing to do is pay close attention to how you feel. rest weeks are hard to plan out and you kinda gotta go by feel. After seven days you might still be tired, and/or after 3 days you might be good to go. The body doesn’t always cooperate.

1 Like