In which training cycle period or under which circumstances should I use recovery boosting e.g. compression clothing?

Hi,

First of all, I am not a professional athlete, just an amateur and an enthusiast of cycling. My main goal is to improve my ability to climb. My basic source of knowledge is TrainerRoad’s Ask a Cycling Coach Video Podcast Series and sometimes I try to dive deeper. I know that there is a lot of knowledge when it comes to the positive influence of compression clothing on recovery. And I also see the positive impact on myself. By using compression I recover faster, my DOMS
is less severe and lasts shorter, and I can train harder. It seems pretty cool, right? I was pretty happy about it until I realized some research stated one shouldn’t interfere with inflammation and recovery process because after doing so the adaptation is not optimal and we don’t get as much as we could from our training. So, where is the sweet spot? When exactly should we use compression clothes? Only during our starting season when the quicker recovery is more important? Maybe during recovery weeks when we execute our training program? Or maybe when we feel so much fatigued we can’t really finish our hard workouts (and if so, how to recognize such moments)?

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,
Jakub

Hi

Here is the links to make an informed choice

1. # Effects of Compression Tights on Recovery Parameters after Exercise Induced Muscle Damage: A Randomized Controlled Crossover Study

Results