How to train while away on business

First off, love the podcast and really enjoying the TrainerRoad product. I’m new to really training and following a regimented schedule and really enjoying it. My only problem is I regularly travel for work. Is there a way you have found that works for adapting workouts or matching to HR that I can utilize at the hotel gym or various fitness clubs. Almost exclusively stay in Marriott or Hilton brand hotels and almost all have stationary bikes. Would love to adapt workouts to stick to schedule rather then push all to the end of the week when back in town. Thanks for any input.

Check out this blog post, should be helpful!

2 Likes

I also travel a bunch for work and this is what I do. It requires some investment, but I enjoy it.

First off, I bought a set of power meter pedals. I purchased the Garmin Vector 3’s, but from what I gather all the pedals are pretty darn close in regards to quality.

DC Rainmaker Power Meter Overview

Second, I purchased the Feedback Sports Omnium Portable Resistance Trainer. If you buy this, be sure to buy the “resistance” trainer. Without it, there is no variable resistance and you’ll have a wattage peak that may not suffice for a TR workout (depending on gearing). Another item of note on this. If you’re in a hotel room, you have to have a slick for a back tire. If you use anything with knobs, it will be WAY too loud and you’ll have unhappy neighbors. Another benefit to this trainer is its awesome for pre-race warmup. The TR guys talk about this multiple times on podcasts. I also have a Kickr but opted to purchase the Omnium as well because lugging around the Kickr was miserable up and down hotel steps/elevators.

Ominum Resistance Trainer

Thrid, I bought a good fan. I purchased a small-size Vornado fan. Small enough to travel, but does a decent job of cooling. If you don’t mind lugging around something bigger, go bigger.

Vornado Small Fan