How to return after a short-term injury?

I’m looking for advice on returning from a short term injury. I’ve been doing structured training for about 6 months and started on TR in September. On the LV plans, I completed SSB1 and was halfway through SSB2 when I aggravated an old niggle by stacking up too many hard sessions. On consecutive days I did a run that was probably too hard for my level, then Palisade the next day, then I did a hard swim, then Mills. After that I felt a bit achy but still did a run the following day and then things started to flare up. (The niggle is an unstable SI joint if anyone’s curious.)

This is how things have panned out since I accepted the niggle was real on 23rd Nov.

• Week 1 - still in denial, tried 2x20 and then 2x10min sweet spot - this was too much and made it worse
  • Week 2 - no cycling at all, started on NSAIDs for a week
  • Week 3 - eased into short tempo / sweetspot intervals
  • Week 4 (this week) - more structured sweet spot work - 4x6 mins this morning.

My question is really how to rejoin the TR program. I expect my FTP is now lower but I’m easing back into training and couldn’t do a ramp test to check it - the ramp test would be too intense. I was also approaching the hardest sessions of SSB2 so if I rejoined there I might struggle (or aggravate the niggle again). Do I pursue my own sessions until I feel “ready” to jump back into SSB2? Do I go back to the start of SSB2?

Many thanks.

1 Like

How about traditional base 2 until you’re feeling 100%? It’s a nice progression of tempo & sweetspot: Log In to TrainerRoad