How to optimise training this winter

I’m a 45 year old male who’s been cycling for about 2 years now. As winter approaches I’m thinking about how to optimise my winter training. My main goals are to lower my heart rate while training - it seems to be absurdly high (with averages of around 150 on my Sunday rides) and to improve my VO2 Max (which Garmin says is 35 - while I’ve never done cardio sport before, I can’t believe this).

I’m thinking of signing up to Trainer Road and doing Sweetspot base (probably 2 blocks if I can manage that) or signing up to Zwift and doing a mixture of SST / 2x15 / The Gorby / The Wringer sessions.

Any thoughts? Suggestions welcome!

1 Like

Yes. Sign up for TR. Put in your goals and let the app do the rest. Everything will increase, your fitness, your FTP and VO2Max.

I am 50. I am not a pro nor am I hanging in the front with the super fast guys/women however, I can hang and dangle off the back. Taking an occasional pull in the front to slow the group down.

I have been using TR for 7 years after an elderly man dropped me in San Diego with ease! I am not sure the elderly man probably would still drop me but not as fast!

Admittedly, I will race on Zwift on weekends to change things up. Also, admittedly I sand bag and still have people flying by me.

7 Likes

How many hours/week are you planning to train?

TR’s sweet spot approach may or may not give the results you want. It is basically a one size fits all approach to base. Keep in mind adaptive training doesn’t change the approach, it just gives you appropriate workouts.

Optimizing base with stock plans can be somewhat hit or miss, there are several approaches and TR SSB being more threshold weighted.