Hip Misalignment Led to Saddle Sores and Decreasing Power

TLDR: Hip misalignment (off of the bike) resulted in one leg being effectively shorter than the other, caused saddle sores, and resulted in decreasing power output as noted by numerous failed workouts. Remedies have included a temporary heel insert to make the legs even, additional stretches, and a couple of visits to a chiropractor.

I’m posting this in case others have similar symptoms. It took me quite a while to realize that all of my seemingly separate issues were due to my hips being out of alignment. I’m only two weeks into an expected eight-week treatment plan and will periodically post updates.

Symptom 1 - saddle sores. I’ve been battling saddle sores for the last three months. I originally thought it was due to switching from Shimano to Look cleats since the stack height and location where the spindle crosses the cleat are different. I did ultimately lower my saddle 4mm and that helped, but the saddle sore returned.

Symptom 2 - bike tilt. I have a homemade rocker plate for my trainer. Over the last couple of months I started noticing that I was not sitting vertically on the bike. It was tilted to the left.

Symptom 3 - uneven peak power phase. I have a dual sided power meter and left / right balance was never worse than 48/52%. However, there is a larger discrepancy between peak power phase start. I tend to end my peak power phase at the same angle on each leg but my left leg starts the peak power phase more than 5 degrees sooner than the right leg. YMMV but, in hindsight, this was another data point that I missed.

Symptom 4 - lower back pain / fatigued muscle. The internal / external lower oblique muscles on the right side are working extra hard to try to compensate for the misaligned hips.

Screen Shot 2021-05-19 at 11.01.38 AM