Hair today, gone tomorrow

After listening to the ‘Specialized’ wind tunnel podcast, I was preparing to do something I’d never even considered before… shave my legs. This was going to be a big step for me.

Then I read this: Cyclist article

Now I’m not sure I’ll bother. Yes, this is a topic that constantly seems to do the rounds but I’m not sure that enough people who are ‘in-the-know’, really agree that there is much benefit, other than comfort, and my hairs have never made me uncomfortable.

I’ve been cycling for 6 years and racing cyclocross on/off for 3 years.

People (even those I don’t know) always like to point out that I’m doing something wrong by not shaving my legs. But honestly, I’ve never found myself in a position where shaved legs wouldve been any benefit to me.

The only advantage I can see is for cleaning/healing wounds but I don’t crash enough to make that worthwhile

So the fastest configuration might be a leg mullet?

7 Likes

This debate will never be settled. I think cyclists are a vain lot, and probably most won’t admit the real reason we shave our legs. It simply looks better. Hairly legs look unsightly with smart cycling kit.

12 Likes

a) wax, don’t shave. Sure, it hurts more the first time (ok, first few times) but then it’s nothing. It lasts longer (>1mo), the hair returns softer and less dense, and your wife/partner will probably like it much more than razor stubble.
b) smooth legs get less dirty and are easier to clean. If you’re in the dirt at all (gravel, MTB primarily or cross), ticks etc don’t have anything to latch onto. Not scientific here, but I found ticks were less often on my legs and easier to spot in the rare case they were there. This point can be recategorized as “smooth legs result in less road rash and cleaner road rash.”
c) smooth legs are much easier to massage, which is not an insubstantial reason.

1 Like