Group rides in Manchester, UK

Good evening all!

A fairly simple one for you - I’m looking to join a fast group ride / chain gang that rides from/near Manchester City Centre.

I’ve got a decent amount of group riding experience, but I moved to the city late last year (from Devon) & haven’t joined up with a group up here yet.

I’m happy to ride out to meet a group & I’m aware that Rapha run one, but as a MSc student, I can’t really justify the yearly membership fee at the moment.

Any help would be hugely appreciated!!

1 Like

I ride with Chorlton Velo who ride from Didsbury in South Manchester. There’s a few guys who come out from the centre, it’s not too far. We don’t run any chaingangs at the moment but the fast rides can be very fast :slight_smile:

Friendly bunch and I would recommend. You can find them on British Cycling - we ask that people do an introductory Saturday ride before joining the other rides. Organised rides are Saturday, Sunday and Wednesday and split into Social, Intermediate and Fast - the Fast group has quite a few guys who race and are very quick.

I am not very familiar with groups in the city centre, I would have guessed Manchester Wheelers but I don’t see them around much these days.

2 Likes

The Rapha lot are a lovely bunch and I’m sure they’d be happy for you to join a few without membership to welcome you to the area.

Team Chronomaster used to do fast group rides from Bolton but I’m not sure what’s involved there.

As mentioned above, Chorlton Velo seem to be a great bunch.

Welcome to Manchester anyway! I’m based in Urmston, so let me know if you want any route pointers :+1:t2:

2 Likes

Tagging on to the thread, I’m based in North Manchester (Prestwich) if anybody has suggestions for up here as well, would be appreciated.

I don’t ride with them because they are not my local club but I would also recommend Chorlton Velo based on anecdotal evidence.