Herding a group ride

Hello internet friends,

I’ve been asked by our tri club to lead next seasons bike training. It sounds cool and I might do it but I’ve got zero experience in group riding, at least on the road. While I’m confident in my general qualification, I’m a certified trail guide and have led plenty of off-road rides, road seems to be a different animal. The previous coach told me that the group covers a fairly wide w/kg continuum, maybe 2.5 - 4.5 w/kg. She told me she threw in the towel because she could never keep the group together, with the faster guys always raising the pace.

How do you deal with this? It’s clearly meant more as a social ride, but it appears the expectation is that it resembles some form of training. Before I split the group or establish a behave-or-be-gone rule, I’d much rather find a way to keep everybody happy.

I was thinking having a interval session on the middle where everybody can choose the length for themselves and have each interval start at the same location. Or maybe find a route where the stringer riders can ride a detour now and then where they can bury it. But that’s all I can think of at the moment.

Anyone else dealing with this kind of stuff and can share experience how to lead such a group?

Cheers!

1 Like

A few thoughts:

1. Lay out the rules before the ride, both via whatever comms your club uses (Facebook, etc) and in person before the ride starts. Things you might want to cover include whether it’s a drop or no drop ride, average pace, if there are sections where the group has to stay together vs sections where people have a bit more latitude to go off the front, any designated stop points or sprint points, etc
  2. Point people in the direction of some general pointers on group riding etiquette. E.g. Group Ride Etiquette and Skills Every Cyclist Needs to Know - CTS Particularly with triathletes who may not have much experience of group riding