Gp5000 tl alternatives for cross/gravel bike

Hey all,

I’m looking to make my cross/gravel bike into a poor weather backup road bike for longer (60+ mile) rides with a tire change. I’m running 40mm knobby gravelkings tubeless on dt swiss 1400s atm, and it’s just a little sluggish/bouncy on the asphalt.

I was thinking gp5000tl in 32, just to handle all roads. But they are significant $$ and I’ve read some reviews online suggesting that sidewall durability might be questionable which makes me nervous. (not only will I still be riding these on some gravel, I live on a dirt road, so every ride is at least a bit of gravel)

I’m really new to the tubeless game, anyone have a 30-36mm TL slick recommendation, or is the 5000tl just the way to go?

Disclaimer: This is the first of (no doubt) many ‘tyres I’ve ridden that I’ll recommend with no real data’ posts.

With that said, I tried some WTB Byway 40’s the other day on a mixed ride and was mega impressed. They’re pretty capable off road, a lot grippier than I’d expected on almost all surfaces apart from deep sand. On road however was where I was most impressed. Either I was on an exceptional day or these tyres are super fast rolling (which isn’t beyond the realms of possibility, being essentially a supple slick tyre with some side knobs). I’d recommend them, or possibly the model without the side knobs if you’re not doing much gravel/mud. I was comparing them back to back with Pro Ones in 32mm, and they didn’t feel noticeably slower tbh. I was set up tubeless at about 40 psi.

2 Likes

Panaracer Gravelking in a 32mm.

1 Like

I’d say that the GP5Ks are more “race” orientated everyday wheels - I wouldn’t have them on a gravel bike.

Panaracer gravelking slicks on 38mm

Check out the link belowfrom Tom Anhalt who does a lot of rolling resistance tests on tires.