Failing “longer” workouts

Working through sweet spot base 1 and unfortunately have failed/quit the 2 of the last 1.5 hour workouts.

The 1 hour workouts in the plan are going really well though, if anything I almost thought I just raise my FTP for them, but for some reason the last 1.5 hour workouts my muscles are toast and I lose all motivation by about 2/3 of the way through.

I am consuming calories and hydrating.

I understand these aren’t long at all compared to some of the workouts you guys are doing, but for some reason these future ones seem super daunting now.

Anyone have a similar experience? I have been using TR for about 18 months on and off, but after a break am where I am today.

If anyone knows some strategies or has an idea of what training I can do to build up fitness for these “longer” workouts I would really appreciate the help so I can get as much value out of my limited training time as possible.

1 Like

Which workouts in particular? For me, the 1.5 hour workouts are psychologically as tough as anything, so I break them into small chunks and try to forget about what is still to come. I always have the halfway point as a goal, and that way once you get past that point you can tell yourself “there is less than half to go”.

If it’s physical and you literally can’t get through them, then perhaps opting for the low volume plan to start with might be beneficial?

4 Likes

Antelope and eclipse are the ones I failed. I’m actually already in the low volume plan haha.
But ya, it’s like the intervals are so fatiguing that mentally I can’t fathom doing one more so I quit.

What is odd is the sweet spot intervals in the one hour rides are doable, but for whatever reason the longer workouts are breaking me.

I think I’m in the same boat with the plan. Luckily though I’ve always had outdoor rides planned or only have time for the shorter alternative.

#1 though I’d say check your cooling setup