End of season... So what now?

So i’ve had my last road race of the year. I haven’t got any triathlons planned, I don’t do Cross and my only MTB is an old 26" and i hate mud anyway.

So what do i do now? I’ve been digging deep for 8 months, countless hours on the trainer and riding around hard, almost always “training” rather than just enjoying riding. I’m at 4.3W/Kg and well into the 45-50AG so i’m happy i’ve got this far, but what do people do now? Can i stop training and relax a bit for a few months, and then start it all again with SSB in the winter?

What’s the usual protocol for the end of season so you don’t get fat or worse: slow?

2 Likes

This is the time of year to get fat and slow. Go do something else

Maybe that means long rides with your buddies. Maybe it means golf. Maybe it means catching up on some housework.

Let yourself detrain. You will get your fitness back quickly when you start training again but letting your mind and body focus on something else will help you be stronger next year

You can indeed, though gains might start to drop rapidly after a few months. According to my copy of “Faster Road Racing”:

These more relaxed periods typically last from three to six weeks, but you may want to schedule a longer period over the winter. … During your recovery period your running should be free of the discipline that is required when you are in training.

This. I’m prescribed October off, with a new plan commencing November for the 2020 season.

1 Like

I’m taking a month to do all the stuff I couldn’t do while I was training for my A race, like centuries, bike packing, and KoM hunting!

Gonna take some time off in October and probably not even touch the bike. Spend some time tuning up my ski setup and putting on some winter weight so I’m not so dang cold all the time!