Dropping Weight and Adding Watts

Hey I am new to TR and a first year cyclist. I started cycling in March after loosing 60 lbs. I am 6’6" and weigh 279lbs. I have since biked 5000 miles here in SoCal. I am ready to loose another 60-80 lbs. I did the ramp test today on my Tacx for the first time and my ftp was 274.

I am wondering, is it possible to still do some weekly rides outside? I have stages LR power meters.
Is 2 lbs a week of fat a safe amount to drop and not lose too much muscle mass?
Is it possible to get up to 350-360 watts in a year or two? Which volume of plan would you recommend? I have an April Fondo I would like to do and then the Mammoth Fondo in September.

Thanks in advance,

Jason

Having listened to the podcast for a while, I think @ambermalika regularly advises that cyclists chase performance first and foremost. Performance will often lead to better decisions around food, strength work, sleep and consistent training. Usually weight follows on from those things rather than being a target in itself.

From personal experience, I know that there is definitely a weight below which my performance falls off quite significantly. I’m currently carrying a few covid and christmas pounds, but I figure I’m allowed to be january sized in january :wink:

3 Likes

Yes, and one way is to apply the TR Outside Workout option:

The short answer is that no one knows. There are far too many variables to make that type of prediction. It’s best to just get consistent with your training and see where you can go, especially with so little prior experience.

The common recommendation, especially for those that are new to structured training is to start with Low Volume.

If you have a nailed the Low Volume, there are some recommendations for taking the next step:

You can add those events to the calendar, and allow Plan Builder to set the training plan aimed at those goal events.

2 Likes